Purity and Despair

by Elegant Simplicity



This is the 10th Elegant Simplicity album and the first all instrumental release since 'Natural Instinct'.

From the piano and strings intro to the all out heavy rock of the title track, this album fuses progressive rock, folk, jazz and orchestral themes into an album of rare depth and beauty.

Highly original in approach and execution, the album overflows with melody and invention.


released January 1, 1998

Steven McCabe: Acoustic and Electric Guitars, Guitar-Synth, Organ, Piano, Mellotron, Synthesisers, Flute, Mandolin, Samples & Effects
Peter Douglas: Acoustic and Electric Drums, Percussion and Assorted Noises
Gilbert Ross: Fretted and Fretless Bass Guitars

All songs composed, arranged, produced and engineered by Steven McCabe


all rights reserved



Elegant Simplicity

ELEGANT SIMPLICITY is a Rock Band from the UK. That is all you need to know.

But! If you like eclectic rock that mixes elements of classic progressive rock, underground, folk, fusion, and all points in between, we might just be the band for you!

"Be yourself, everyone else is taken"
... more

contact / help

Contact Elegant Simplicity

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Elegant Simplicity recommends:

If you like Elegant Simplicity, you may also like: